Project 4: Montage

JustinDial-P4Montage-Baseball

 

 

  • Description:

Montage I created for brother who is walking in his brothers (me) footsteps.

  • Process (Programs, Tools, Skills, Steps taken while designing):

This project was difficult because I had to decide which pictures I wanted. I ultimately had to redesign it. I started with a set of four pictures layered on top of each other that I took in burst mode on my Canon 60D. The goal was to make a montage and for this those for pictures looked more like a composite. When it was critiqued someone suggested I make it look like a baseball card. and in the end I came up with this. my first idea required masks for each layer, but my final design it required only one and was much easier. Also in my initial draft I used the Automate > photomerge feature in photoshop. So I was basically making it to hard for me. This goes to prove that we have to be willing to sacrifice what we really want in a design for something that will ultimately look and feel ten times better.

  • Message:

Baseball is an American past time. Poster for my Brother.

  • Audience:

This goes out to all the avid baseball players, but is mostly intended for my little brother.

  • Top Thing Learned:

Less is more. I was trying use too many photos which ultimately impeded the gestalt of the design.

  • Filter / Colorization used and where it was applied:

I added a slight drop shadow on my brother’s name and his jersey number. I also applied a vibrance mask to make the color in his shirt pop.

  • Color scheme and color names:

Monochromatic red

  • Title Font Name & Category:

Modern No. 20

  • Thumbnails of Images used:

IMG_2005-Small IMG_1995-small chainlink-fence-texture-small

 

  • Sources (Links to images on original websites / with title of site):

http://www.psdgraphics.com/file/chainlink-fence-texture.jpg

Other photos were taken by me.

One thought on “Project 4: Montage

  1. Nice job Justin! You did an excellent job with the fading concept and masking two images into one. I really enjoy this up close and very personal designer’s touch associated with this specific project, and your little brother’s little league baseball team. The clarity and image resolution of these two images are fanastasic as well, which I think has helped in capturing the intensity of this sport perfectly. Very well done. Check out Colton’s montage at the link below.

Leave a Reply

