Project 2: Event Ad

Image

  • Description: This project required me to scan an image of my choice from a magazine and create a design using the pictures I scanned for creative poster promoting a fictitious event or charity. I choose golf because It’s spring time and I’ve been itching to get out and play a round of golf, but since learning takes priority I’ll just make the best with what I have.
  • Process (Programs, Tools, Skills): In this scenario we were limited to Microsoft Word. I feel giving yourself limitation can only enhance your creativity. We emphasized color in this project choosing a color scheme and implementing it into our design.
  • Message: What a better way to justify spending $25 dollars on a round of golf than helping those less fortunate than ourselves? My Idea was to have golf scramble and that all the money would be donated to the blind and visually impaired.
  • Audience: My target audience are those who enjoy playing golf and have been effected one way or another by the loss of sight, whether in their own family or a close friend.
  • Color scheme and color names: Monochromatic – Red
  • Top Thing Learned: This doesn’t pertain so much to design as it does the program and printing, but I thought it was cool that you could set your margins when printing by going to file > page setup > manage custom sizes, and set your margins to zero allowing the printer to control how close it could print to the edge instead of the computer or program.
  • Title Font Name & Category: Arial Black, San Serif
  • Copy Font Name & Category: Cambria, Oldstyle
  • Scanned images used, sources, original sizes, location of scanner used:

Image

 

  • Golf Magazine (Library)
  • 8.5 x 11
  • Library, 1st floor
3 thoughts on “Project 2: Event Ad

  1. Justin! I like your event ad. The monochromatic color scheme was a solid choice. The photo you used was striking and eye-catching…I think it was a good idea choosing it. The strikethrough of the solid shape in the corner contributed in a great way to the flow of the design. The message is clear and your design demonstrates that message clearly. Cool work.
    Check out my ad and tell me what you think! http://emiliepasche.wordpress.com/her-event-ad/

  2. Justin,
    Before I say anything else I just have to say that I saw the images that you recently posted to you blog and I am VERY impressed. Well done, I think YOU have a knack for photography!

    Your design has a good flow from the bottom to the top. Great use and choice of your image. They whole ad is very eye catching and vibrant. The event was a clever idea.

    You have already seen this but this is the link to my blog:
    http://dailyvitaminbri.wordpress.com/2014/05/17/project-2-event-ad/

    Here is a link to another good blog:
    http://kellimarrott.wordpress.com/2014/05/10/project-1-flier/

Leave a Reply

